Broken strings
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Published
Toronto, Ontario : Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company, 2019.
Format
Book
ISBN
9780735266247, 0735266247
Physical Desc
282 pages ; 22 cm
Status
Grade School (2nd Floor) - Juvenile Fiction
J Walters, Eric
2 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Grade School (2nd Floor) - Juvenile FictionJ Walters, EricAvailable
Grade School (2nd Floor) - Juvenile FictionJ Walters, EricChecked OutJune 4, 2024
Grade School (2nd Floor) - Juvenile FictionJ Walters, EricAvailable

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Published
Toronto, Ontario : Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company, 2019.
Language
English
ISBN
9780735266247, 0735266247
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 4.8, 9 Points

Notes

General Note
The "o" in the word "Broken" in the title appears as a Star of David
Description
A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase. It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Walters, E., & Kacer, K. (2019). Broken strings . Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Walters, Eric, 1957- and Kathy Kacer. 2019. Broken Strings. Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Walters, Eric, 1957- and Kathy Kacer. Broken Strings Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company, 2019.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Walters, Eric, and Kathy Kacer. Broken Strings Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers, a Penguin Random House Company, 2019.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.